Beautiful Words

I think because I was a teen in the 80’s this bright neon “thing” that’s happening right now draws my attention like a magpie to tinfoil (read: they love it). I found these scarves in Paris wrapped around the chic neck of a petite woman in skinny jeans and the perfect beat-up biker jacket (swoon). Her company is Karien Belle, she’s French (naturally) and she works with a small group of women in India who do all the natural dyeing of the linen and the beautiful embroidering of stellar quotes from such brains as Rodin, the Dalai Lama and Einstein. I love that

quote by Langston Hughes

quote by Langston Hughes

quote by Rabindranath Tagore

quote by Rabindranath Tagore

the quotes are not of the standard “if-you-love-something-set-it-free” variety but rather more thoughtful and compelling. So far we’ve sold these wonders in Yolk, not only as scarves but one woman bought one to make a curtain for her young daughters room (amazing) and I’m thinking of having one hanging over the headboard of my bed. Sweet, sweet dreams.

Me, in a scarf but I chopped off the top of my head because I was having a bad hair day.

Me, in a scarf but I chopped off the top of my head because I was having a bad hair day.

One thought on “Beautiful Words

Leave a Reply

