Is Everything Beautiful in Morocco?

The answer to the above question in “yes”. Years ago I went to Marrakech and all of it, from the beauty of the crowded souk market with piles of fresh spices and fabrics,  to sparseness of the Berber villages,  took my breath away and left colorful images burned in my brain (it takes a lot to do that to jaded, bored 20-something). Of course, there were tons of donkeys and dogs, which are also two of my favorite things (as long as the dogs aren’t too skinny and itchy, then it’s sad).

thankyou www.inside-morocco.com for this amazing pic!

thankyou http://www.inside-morocco.com for this amazing pic!

When I was in Paris this past January I met the most lovely Christophe, who showed me his AMAZING line of Moroccan table linens Leo Atlante (they don’t have a website but you can find them on ye olde Facebook). This literally hit every sweet spot in my design vocabulary—delicious natural fabrics, embroidery, bright colors AND function. Christophe and his partner design the linens and then they are all handmade by a women’s collective in the village of Amaragh, located near Tiznit in southern Morocco. My favorite are the small kitchen cloths which Christophe called a “tete a tete” tablecloth, to be put across a table when having an intimate dinner for two. What a delicious idea!!!!

This embroidery oddly reminds me of my Swedish grandmother.

This embroidery oddly reminds me of my Swedish grandmother.

Here's a close-up of the embroidery on a full-size tablecloth.

Here’s a close-up of the embroidery on a full-size tablecloth. Note the hand-embroidered trim!

These full-size square tablecloths are 100% cotton.

Tete a Tete anyone?.

IMG_4572

The bigger tablecloths like this one are 100% cotton.

These are not up on website yet but you can always call us 323-660-4315 and we’ll happily help.

Leave a Reply

