More Than A Felting

I didn’t realize I was missing felt in my life until I started buying for Yolk. What could be more delicious than something that is bright, bold AND functional. I guess I also didn’t realize that most felt items seem to come from Nepal. Since I’m a curious soul I went to the University of Google and found that the main industry of this South Asian state is Tourism but SURELY it must be felting. I’m positive if you look VERY closely at the pic below you will see the beautiful Nepalese people felting away in the snowy mountains (OK maybe not this exact pic).

Nepal and Felt image

Nepal’s beautiful mountains hiding busy felters. Photo: Citizen Fresh

There’s just something about the colors that wool felt takes on, even the palest of pinks retains a brightness that I just adore. This trivet below is one of the top sellers in Yolk to the point where people will come in and buy them in stacks, have us wrap them all separately and then keep them on hand in their “gift closet” (note to you: I do not have a “gift closet”, seems a bit Candy Spelling).

Yolk Silverlake Felt Ball Trivel

Sunny side up with this felt ball trivet!

Other bits of felty deliciousness that we’ve recently received in Yolk are from the amazing line Muskhane, a line from Paris but made in (altogether now: NEPAL!).

Yolk Silverlake Felt Placemats

These felt leaves are amazing placemats and coasters.

Yolk Silverlake loves felt.

More beauty from Muskhane. The perfect felt catch-alls.

 

Leave a Reply

